top of page

March Madness

By: Timothy Chia

March Madness is a single-elimination tournament that is held in March and April in the United States. The National Collegiate Athletic Association created March Madness for competitive college basketball. Division I level teams of the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) participate in this tournament every year.

The first men’s tournament happened in 1939. Since then, excepting 2020. March Madness has been held every spring in the United States. This year’s March Madness begins on March 13 when the full tournament bracket is unveiled.

The tournament was formerly called the NCAA Men’s College Basketball. March Madness is given that name because it is held in March and a lot of people like it.

All the teams and seeds are included in the full tournament bracket. There are 64 women’s teams and 68 men’s teams that must qualify to play in their conferences.

The first and second rounds occur on March 17-20. In the weeks following, fewer and fewer teams will remain in the competition. Mrs. Hauser said, “when a team loses, it immediately gets out of the game and when it wins, it goes to the next round.”

By April 2, the number of teams dwindle down to the Final Four. The two winning teams from the Final Four will play in the National Championship on April 4. This year’s Final Four and National Championship will be held at the Caesar’s Superdome in New Orleans.


Special thanks to Mrs. Hauser for helping with this article!

bottom of page